Buhari sends names of ministerial nominees to Senate

South South leaders assured me IPOB won't have access to the sea, we'll encircle them - Buhari

President Muhammadu Buhari has forwarded fresh nominees for ministerial appointments to the Nigerian Senate following the resignation of some ministers from his cabinet.

Recall that Rotimi Chibuike Amaechi, Godswill Akpabio, Ogbonnaya Onu, and Emeka Nwajiuba had all resigned from their ministerial offices in accordance with the provisions of section 84(12) of the electoral act to pursue presidential bids under the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

In the letter received by the red chamber and read by the Senate President, Ahmad Ibrahim Lawan on Tuesday, President Buhari said the nominees would replace the former ministers that resigned from his cabinet.

The letter reads, “In accordance with Section 8 Subsection 2 of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended, I hereby forward the under-listed ministerial nominees for your confirmation.”

The nominees are:

Henry Ikechukwu Ikoh – Abia State
Umana Okon Umana – Akwa Ibom State
Egwumakama Joseph Nkama – Ebonyi State
Goodluck Nnana Opiah – Imo State
Umar Ibrahim El-Yakub – Kano State
Ademola Adewole Adegoroye – Ondo State
Odum Odih – Rivers State

The upper legislative chamber is expected to screen the nominees in the “committee of the whole” on a date yet to be announced.