Oduwa emerges Ebonyi assembly speaker


Moses Odunwa representing Ikwo South constituency, and Chinedu Onah, representing Ohaukwu South constituency, have been elected as Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the Ebonyi State 7th House of Assembly, respectively.

The emergence of Odunwa as Speaker was unopposed, following the nomination by the member representing Edda West, Nkemka Okoro Onumara, and seconded by Godwin Abiri of Izzi West.

Onah, too, was unanimously elected as the Deputy Speaker of the House.

The Eastern Updates reports that Kingsley Ikoro, representing Afikpo West, emerged as the Leader of the House, and Joseph Ununu of Abakaliki North was elected the Deputy Leader without opposition.

Also, Nkemka Okoro Onuma, representing Edda West, became the Chief Whip, while Lucas Chukwu, representing Ishielu South, emerged as the Deputy Chief Whip of the House.

18 out of the 24 members of the House of Assembly are members of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC). The remaining ones are:
Three members of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP). Two members of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA). One member of the Labour Party (LP).

Patricia Anasi, the clerk of the House, earlier stated that the election of the principal officers of the 7th Ebonyi House of Assembly was conducted according to the stipulation of Section 92 (1) of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended.